_____ Bio/Contact

Resume – Composition Works List – Harpsichord Repertoire – Performances

CONTACT | peterremark47@gmail.com

Peter Kramer was born in Portland, Oregon (b.1989) where he studied composition, piano and violin with Dr. Marshall Tuttle at Mount Hood Community College. He graduated from the Oberlin Conservatory (2014) with a double major in Composition and Harpsichord Performance, and is currently pursuing his PhD in Composition at the CUNY Graduate Center, studying with Jason Eckardt and Suzanne Farrin. His principal teachers also include Lewis Nielson and Webb William Wiggins. Peter’s music focuses on “musical parasites” residual and musical anomalies/artifacts resulting from performance paired with the resonant sound world of 16th and 17th century music, particularly keyboard and choral repertoires, as well as the sound world of American folk and blues traditions.

Peter has most recently attended the Loretto Festival (2017) with the Longleash trio, and the June in Buffalo Festival (2016) where he worked with composers David Felder, Hans Abrahamsen, Chinary Ung and Hanna Eimermacher. His compositions have been performed by ensembles such as Longleash, TAK, Uusinta, Oberlin CME, Nouveau Classical Project, andPlay, Second Species, Wolftone, and the Emissary Quartet. He has participated in composition master classes with Rodger Reynolds, Jason Eckardt, Phillip Cashian, George Lewis, and Mark Barden, and harpsichord master classes with Mitzi Meyerson, Charles Metz, Ton Koopman, Jacques Ogg and Michael Sponseller. He has attended the New Music on the Point, SICPP, and Nief-Norf festivals as a composer, and the Vancouver Early Music Festival, Baroque Performance Institute, Accademia d’Amore opera workshop as a harpsichordist. He has also spent time at the Banff Center in Alberta Canada as an artist in residence. He has been awarded the Walter E. Aschaffenburg Prize in Composition, Earl L. Russel Award in Historical Performance and the Shansi Prize for his choral composition AMA from Oberlin Conservatory. Additionally, Peter has been mentored by composers Eric Wubbles, Josh Levine, and Daniel Tacke. Apart from composition and harpsichord performance, his interests include harpsichord and organ building/maintenance, playing the lute and baroque guitar, and studying aspects of American folk and blues music.




  1. Could you please tell me when you helped Hal Gober remove the Appleton organ from Holy Cross and where it went from there?
    Many thanks!

    1. That’s a great question! We probably removed that organ 4 or 5 years ago over the course of a week. We packed it up and moved it (unassembled) into the basement of Oberlin’s old swimming pool / gymnasium building, that’s the last I’ve heard of it… shame.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s